2015 OhioDance Festival and Conference
Dance Matters: Engaging Communities

April 24-26, 2015 BalletMet Columbus

Special guest artist is Liz Lerman.

 A statewide celebration of dance through classes, workshops, discussions, and performances.

The theme of the conference Engaging Communities, incorporates the idea of people coming together from different backgrounds and fields in collaboration with the arts.
Liz Lerman and her work embodies this theme.

To download the pdf click here 2015 OhioDance Festival Brochure

Registration page only

2015 OD fest registration page

2015 Maggie Patton Dance Scholarship and OhioDance Outstanding Dance Student Award If you are a member of OhioDance and would like to nominate a student for this award, please fill out this nomination form and return along with an online link or DVD 2 minutes or under (brief showing of the student’s ability), to OhioDance by Monday, March 9, 2015.

pdf – 2015Maggie patton_OhioDance Outstanding Dance Student Award

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Nationally recognized artist, Liz Lerman, will serve as a guest artist for the annual OhioDance Spring Festival and Conference at BalletMet in Columbus on April 24-26, 2015.

April 24 Young Artists’ Concert, 10:30-11:30am. Master classes begin at 3:00pm.
April 25 Full day of master classes, and discussions, an evening Performance, and awards
April 26 Wellness sessions, master classes & dance party!

Lerman’s schedule of events includes:

  • April 24, 4:30-6 p.m. — “Hiking the Horizontal” book reading and signing. Books will be available at the signing.

April 25, 10:15-11:45 a.m.

  • Liz Lerman master class focused on choreographic tools, feedback methods, or collaborative methods
  • April 25, 12:30pm- 1:30pm — guest speaker after the Luncheon

Liz Lerman is a choreographer, performer, writer, educator and speaker, and the recipient of numerous honors, including a 2002 MacArthur “Genius Grant” Fellowship and a 2011 United States Artists Ford Fellowship in Dance. A key aspect of her artistry is opening her process to various publics from shipbuilders to physicists, construction workers to ballerinas, resulting in both research and outcomes that are participatory, relevant, urgent, and usable by others. She founded Liz Lerman Dance Exchange in 1976 and cultivated the company’s unique multi-generational ensemble into a leading force in contemporary dance until 2011. She was an artist-in-residence and visiting lecturer at Harvard University in fall of 2011, and continues to teach nationally and internationally. In 2013 she curated Wesleyan University’s symposium “Innovations: Intersection of Art and Science,” bringing together teams of artists and scientists from North America to present their methods and findings. Her collection of essays, Hiking the Horizontal: Field Notes from a Choreographer, was published in 2011 by Wesleyan University Press and will be available in paperback in 2014.

All events take place at the Ballet Met studios and performance space at 322 Mt. Vernon Ave, Columbus, OH 43215. Ballet Met is a proud co-sponsor of the OhioDance Festival.

Questions contact jane@ohiodance.org-614-224-2913.

Thank you to all who attended, taught and performed at the 2014 OhioDance Fall festival and conference. We especially would like to thank our co-host PlayhouseSquare in Cleveland. Along with our partners DANCECleveland and Cleveland State University, Department of Theatre and Dance as well as PlayhouseSquare.

Please enjoy these video clips. To view the full sessions please contact me at jane@ohiodance.org. This is an OhioDance membership benefit. Others can purchase the session or become a member. Thank you.

Video clips from the 2014 Festival sessions

William Evans master class


2013 OhioDance Festival and Conference video clips

2013 Dance as Social Art: Interactive Panel Discussion

2013 Pat Graney What is Keeping the Faith – Prison Project?

2013 Amethyst Inc.’s process and performance of “Hang on, Hang in, and Have Hope”


2013 earlychildhood_education


2013 OhioDance Showcase and Young Artist Concert Clip


Preview of the 2013 OhioDance Festival and Conference

2012 Ann Cooper Albright’s ACTS of Passion 45 second Clip

2012 Dance Wellness for the Teacher led by the OSU Performing Arts Medicine staff 45 second clip.


Support: OhioDance is a statewide organization that inclusively supports the diverse and vibrant practice of dance. OhioDance is supported through grants from The Ohio Arts Council, The Greater Columbus Arts Council, The Columbus Foundation,
Puffin Foundation West, Ltd., and NiSource.